To the monastery in Pochaiv
Designation: To the monastery in Pochaiv
Prices and dates
Places of interest
The Pochayiv Lavra is the largest Orthodox shrine in Western Ukraine and the second largest in Ukraine after the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra. Researchers usually refer to the following two periods of the origin of the Orthodox Monastery on the territory of the present-day town of Pochayiv, and that eventually became a Lavra: “the Pre-Tatar period” and “the Tatar period”. According to the first version there lived a devout man Turkul at the foot of Pochayiv Hill in the late 12th century. He and another monk from Mount Athos began to build the monastery on Pochayiv Hill. Another legend has it that the monastery was founded by the monks of the Kiev Pechersk Cave Monastery who fled from Kyiv during the Tatar-Mongol invasion in 1240. Caves located deep within the hills served as the first premises for the monastery. The first building was a small wooden Church of the Dormition of the Mother of God, built in the 13th century. According to the legend, the Mother of God appeared to the monks in a pillar of fire over Pochayiv Hill and left an imprint of her foot on one of the rocks. The real history of the Pochayiv Monastery dates back to no earlier than the late sixteenth century. Anna Hoyska, the owner of Pochayev, funded the Monastery on November 14, 1597, having granted a corresponding letter. She also granted to the Monastery over 200 acres of arable land, grassland and forests. She allotted an annual sum and a tenth part of the grain to the Monastery.
The Ensemble of the Pochayiv Lavra, that crowns Kremenets Hills, conspicuously dominates the landscape. Its golden cupolas can be seen from far away and the bell-ringing can be heard many kilometers away.
There is Zamkova (Castle) Hill in the town of Krements. The ruins of Kremenets Castle dating from the 13th century are located at an altitude of 400 meters above sea level.
The fortress bore the name of its owner Bona Sforza, Queen of Poland of Italian descent. She was known not only due to her efforts to strengthen and enlarge the castle, and fix excessive taxes, but also due to scary legends of her.
Going up to the hill you can admire the fortress walls and spectacular views of the town of Kremenets. There you can see the Jesuit Church and Saint Nicholas Church. The Cossack Cemetery or Pyatnytsya (Friday) Cemetery is located at the foot of the hill. There are graves of the Ukrainian Cossacks who were killed during the battle for liberation of Kremenets from the Polish authorities between 1648 and 1651.
Juliusz Słowacki, a famous Polish poet and playwright, was born in Krements.